Committees are the decision-making bodies of the town council.

Committee Meeting Dates – May 2024 – April 2025

Committee and Working GroupsCouncil Members 2024-2025

Committees meet in public. Any member of the public is entitled to attend but it’s important to note that they are not entitled to speak at these meetings. All Westbury Town Council committee meetings are proceeded by a Public Forum at which all members of public may speak on any subject; it should be noted that if the subject is not a subject on the agenda it will not be possible for councillors to make any decisions on that matter in the main meeting.

In practice,  chairs commonly allow the public to speak within a meeting (by a special vote of the committee) but they are entitled to stop people speaking through lack of time, or abusive and disruptive behaviour; in the event that someone continues to disrupt a committee meeting of the council after being warned by the chair to stop, the town clerk may ask the police to remove that person.

All decisions are voted and such votes are carried out in public unless the clerk rules that the item is confidential  (e.g. staff conduct) at which the committee may vote to exclude the public and press. Such items are usually termed as being “under part 2 of the agenda”)

Remote Meetings

For remote meetings, Westbury Town Council uses Office365 Teams, live events. This is secure, allows the council to invite guests and up to 20,000 members of the public could watch and hear the meeting live. It also has the ability to record meetings, share information (agendas, minutes and reports), chat and the public can choose to turn on captions.

You can use Teams on the following mobile platforms:

  • Android phones and tablets
  • iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

Town Council Committee

The principle committee of the “Town Council” or “Full Town Council”. It is the only committee we must have by law and sits above any other committees.

All councillors are members of town council. This committee holds all the powers and rights available to the town council.

It is the only committee that can make a major spending decisions and binding policies.

Other Committees

The Town council has a number of committees which are formed under the authority of the full town council. These committees have delegated powers meaning they can carry out some of the functions of the town council but only as determined (delegated) by the town council. By law some decisions, particularly those affecting larger expenditure, can only be made at meetings of the full town council.

In principle, members of the public can be co-opted on to these committees.

At the Town Council meeting on 7th May 2024, the committee members for 2024-2025 were appointed as follows:
Highways, Planning and Development (HP&D)

Which has delegated powers to deal with planning matters. This committee is often referred to as “H, P & D”. Westbury Town Council does not grant or refuse planning permission, but it is a statutory consultee meaning the local planning authority (Wiltshire Council) must ask for the town council’s opinion.

Chair: Cllr D Hamilton-Sheen
Vice Chair: Cllr P Harcourt
Members: Cllr M Bailey, Cllr G King, Cllr M Harper, Cllr J Russ, Cllr M Sutton.

Policy and Resources (P&R)

Which determines the council’s activity outside of planning and development.

Chair: Cllr G King
Vice Chair: Cllr J Russ
Members: Cllr M Bailey, Cllr P Stallard, Cllr M Sutton, Cllr K Knight.

Financial Planning & Scrutiny

Which has an overview function of all council expenditure and helps to prepare budgets.

Chair: Cllr K Knight
Vice Chair: Cllr G King
Members: Cllr M Bailey, Cllr S Kimmins, Cllr J Russ, Cllr M Sutton.

Management of Services

Chair: Cllr M Sutton
Vice Chair: Cllr P Stallard
Members: Cllr M Bailey, Cllr G King, Cllr J Wright, Cllr J Russ.

These are all termed standing committees as they remain in effect.

Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

Is also a committee. It has responsibility for making decisions around the activities of the various neighbourhood planning interest groups. It has members who are not councillors.

Chair: Cllr K Knight
Vice Chair: Cllr P Harcourt
Members: Cllr M Bailey, Cllr G King, Cllr J Russ.

Climate Emergency

Chair: Cllr J Russ
Vice Chair: Cllr M Bailey
Members: Cllr D Hamilton-Sheen, Cllr G King, Cllr J Wright,  Cllr P Stallard, Cllr M Sutton, Cllr P Harcourt, Cllr D Symonds.

Vision for Westbury

Chair: Cllr M Bailey
Vice Chair: Cllr J Russ
Members: Cllr G King, Cllr J Wright, Cllr M Harper, Cllr D Symonds.

At the Town Council meeting on 7th May 2024, the representatives were decided as follows:

Representatives of the Council on other bodies:

Elbag Twinning – Cllr J Russ
French Twinning – Cllr M Bailey
Health and Wellbeing – Cllr S Kimmins
Local Highway & Footway Improvement Group (LHFIG) – Cllr M Sutton
Northacre Hills – Cllr M Bailey
University of the Third Age (U3A) – Cllr J Wright
Warminster CCTV – Cllr S Kimmins
Westbury Area Board – Cllr S Kimmins
Westbury Heritage Society – Cllr D Hamilton-Sheen
Westbury Welfare of the Elderly – Cllr J Russ
Wiltshire Association of Local Councils – Cllr M Dean
Wiltshire Council Rights-of-Way – Cllr G King