Project Description



Committees are the decision-making bodies of the town council.

Committee’s meet in public. Any member of the public is entitled to attend but it’s important to note that you are not they are not entitled to speak these meetings. All Westbury Town Council committee meeting are proceeded by a Public Forum at which all members of public may speak on any subject; it should be noted that is the subject is not a subject on the agenda it will not be possible for councillors to make any decisions on that matter in the main meeting.

In practice,  chairs commonly allow the public to speak within a meeting (by a special vote of the committee) but they are entitled do you stop people speaking through lack of time, or abusive and disruptive behaviour; in the event that someone continues to disrupt a committee meeting of the council after being warned by the chair to stop town clerk may ask the police to remove that person.

All decisions are voted and such votes are carried out in public unless the clerk rules that the item is confidential  (e.g. staff conduct) at which the committee may vote to exclude the public and press. Such items are usually termed as being “under part 2 of the agenda)

Town Council Committee

The principle committee of the “Town Council” or “Full Town Council”. It is the only committee we must have by law and sits above any other committees.

All councillors are members of town council. This committee holds all the powers and rights available to the town council.

It is the only committee that can make a major spending decisions and binding policies.

Other Committees

The Town council has a number of committees which are formed under the authority of the full town council. These committees have delegated powers meaning they can carry out some of the functions of the town council but only as determined (delegated) by the town council. By law some decisions, particularly those affecting larger expenditure, can only be made at meetings of the full town council.

In principle, members of the public can be co-opted on to these committees.

Highways, Planning and Development

Which has delegated powers to deal with planning matters. This commitee is often referred to as “H, P & D”. Westbury Town Council does not grant or refuse planning permission, but it is a statutory consultee meaning the local planning authority (Wiltshire Council) must ask for the town council’s opinion.

Chair: Cllr I Cunningham
Vice Chair: Cllr Gordon King
Members: Cllrs: M Sutton, M Kettlety, B Pyne, N Pyne, J Russ, S Kimmins, J Charles, W Jones, B Swan

Policy and Resources

Which determines the council’s activity outside of planning and development.

Chair: Cllr Ward Jones
Vice Chair: Cllr Jane Russ
Members: Cllrs: I Cunningham, M Kettlety, G King, M Sutton, S Kimmins, J Charles, N Pyne, M Amos


Which has an overview function of all council expenditure and helps to prepare budgets.

Chair: Cllr Nick Pyne
Members: Cllrs: I Cunningham, W Jones, G King, M Sutton, J Parker, S Kimmins, B Pyne

These are all termed standing committees as they remain in effect.

Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

Is also a committee. It has responsibility for making decisions around the activities of the various neighbourhood planning interest groups. It has members who are not councillors.

Chair: Cllr Ian Cunningham
Members: Councillors and Members of the Public

Representatives of the Council on other bodies:

68 (Westbury) Sqn ATC – Cllr G King
BA13 Community Partnership – Cllr I Cunningham and Cllr G King
Community Area Transport Group (CATG) – Cllr N Pyne
Elbag Twinning Association – Cllr M Sutton
Warminster and Westbury CCTV Committee – Cllr S Kimmins
Westbury Area Board – Cllr I Cunningham and Cllr G King
Westbury District Twinning Association – Cllr M Sutton
Westbury Heritage Society – Cllr B Pyne
Westbury (Wilts) Welfare of the Elderly – Cllr N Pyne
Wiltshire Association of Local Councils – Cllr I Cunningham (no representation required)
Wiltshire Council Rights-of-Way – Cllr G King
Northacre – Hills Liaison Group – Cllr N Pyne